It’s called Yellow Belt Syndrome

8 Dec

The typical order of karate belt awards goes something like this: white, yellow, orange, green, blue, brown, and finally, black.  I know this because in 6th grade I took karate at night in my middle school cafeteria.  I’m practically an expert.  As a white belt, I was full-up with excitement and vigor.  It fizzled in time for the yellow belt test.  This coincided with realizing I would never really figure out how to tie the belt just right and then acknowledging that the “pajama outfit” turned out to be stiff, came only in white and was not at all cozy.  Besides, who wants to be barefoot in the same room where you saw some kid puke up chocolate milk and crinkle cut fries earlier that week?  I never got my yellow belt.  What was the point?

Hi, I’m Charlotte Ann and I’m a quitter.  I started early and I’ve had heaps of practice to get me to where I am today.  As the caboose of a sometimes-large family, my parents allowed and often encouraged this behavior; I suspect it got them off the hook when they were just tired, over it and didn’t want to drive.  I cut my quitting teeth on the likes of swim team, ballet, gymnastics, ice-skating, the aforementioned karate, track and volleyball (though I only did that one because one of my many, many schools made us participate on a school sport team).  There was the piano and a $400 violin in 1982 money, both of which look rather stately in my living room now.  I quit Brownies, Latin for French, the Quiz Bowl Team, Debate Club, 4-H.  Though I was technically kicked out of Pony Club (thanks Kiersten!), it was really just a forced quit.  Later on, I mastered dropping classes, switching majors, and not finishing law school.  Then there have been the abandoned creative efforts like box painting, gardening, stained glass, needlepoint, scrapbooking, cake decorating, jewelry making and a whole slew of crappy crafts…  If you need any supplies, come on over.  By the way, don’t confuse quitting with lack of commitment.  The former is a choice, the later is a personality disorder.  My personality is just fine, thank you.

Today marks the seventh day of being the master of my own blog.  Or as my niece Frances calls it, a “blawg”.  What does that mean?  Should I stay or should I go?  If I make it a month, I think I have found an award belt…

Yellow doesn't really work for me anyway. This is much better.

6 Responses to “It’s called Yellow Belt Syndrome”

  1. Laurel Spatz December 8, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    HAHAHAHAHAHA! Excellent! I love your blog name, too. This is going to be a fun ride! Well, until you quit. Please don’t.

  2. G O'Neal December 9, 2010 at 2:06 am #

    Led Zep said it best for me about this blog….”I Can’t Quit You Babe”

  3. Anita December 10, 2010 at 12:21 am #

    I am a quitter too! I love this blog!!!!!

  4. Madison August 25, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    goooo yellow belts, I’m currently one now!!! =D

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rapt by Emo Phillips « Hot damn, Charlotte Ann! - February 11, 2011

    […] I’ve always had about the real life application of martial arts.  As you may recall from this, I once donned a gi, but didn’t stick around quite long enough to unlock the mysteries of winning […]

  2. Atlanta Comedy Club & Lounge | Laughing Skull Lounge - February 11, 2011

    […] I’ve always had about the real life application of martial arts.  As you may recall from this, I once donned a gi, but didn’t stick around quite long enough to unlock the mysteries of winning […]

Leave a Reply

