Good Godfrey

10 Dec

Godfrey and Charlotte Ann

I am a Mommy and a Wife these days and I just can’t be all “Oooh, it’s the weekend!  It’s Miller Time!” anymore.  Friday nights are for decompressing from five days of forcing little people and teenage people to do homework.  Saturdays are reserved for cleaning forgotten parts of the house and some sort of sports practice, game or both.  Sunday we get up at the ass crack for Church, them come home and take naps.  Except this Sunday, there are two holiday parties and Snakebite (my daughter) is playing in a basketball tournament in Kennesaw.  And she has her first boy/girl dance on Saturday night.  Where does the time go?  I dunno.  But for the second week in a row, I have tapped out on Thursday night for a couple of hours at the Laughing Skull Lounge. Right now it’s a happy place, where I am laughing instead of crying.  It’s all good people.

The Thursday night 8pm performance is what amounts to a matinee performance.  It’s the Early Bird special.  And I dig it!  While the headliner is constant, the openers may change around some.   For the sake of my show there were three opening acts.

Jamie Ward is back for round two and he’s working it still.  Apparently, a while back he was a bigger man…by about 50 pounds.  Jamie has a guaranteed weight loss plan, just in time for the holidays, that he’d like to share.  It is so simple and so obvious that I could post an addendum to my Obama Chia idea.  Why in the hell didn’t I think of it myself???

Just the other day I was listening to some hip-hop-rappy thing that accidentally got on my ipod from Big Daddy’s library, and I was wondering about the romantic lines that straddle pathetic and flattering.  Do I want to be a “shawty”?  Is that good, or bad?  Cute-as-a-button Shalewa Sharpe, the story from the back of the MARTA bus that you tell your friends about, sussed it out for me.  Thanks, girl.  And while she was at it, I also got an explanation of how sexting just happens.  I turned forty this year and need for these things to be explained to me.

I have a sweeet new friend.  He may not know we’re friends yet, but we are.  His name is James Adomian and he can do impressions.  Not like Rich Little ones, but anamatronic prospectors from Arizona, gay villains (the best kind) and a spot-on Gary Busey explaining what Obama really stands for.  James also makes funny with the highbrow.  There are plenty of dead author references in his set, which almost made me soil myself in glee.  He also clued me into that “the gays” just like wrestling more than most people.  That’s all.  It’s not political, woman loathing or anything over the top dramatic.  James lived in Roswell until his parents swept him away to LA when he was nine.  I didn’t think to ask if Georgia Championship Wrestling figured into his character development.

In my lifetime, Cher is the original one named wonder.  Then there was Madonna…now there is P!nk, Rhianna, Shakira and a slew of others.  But there is only one man with the balls to go by one name.  Behold, Godfrey.  Actually, it probably has less to do with his chonies and more to do with the foresight that people, Southerners like me, in particular, would mangle and bastardize his last name.  It is Danchimah.  I think just Godfrey will do just fine. I have been a fan for a while.  He’s been in a zillion movies and done a lot of those VH-1 recap and list shows, Chelsea Handler and so on.  If you see him, he’s immediately recognizable.  Here’s the deal.  So many comics play it straight and work so dang hard to maintain a flat expression through their set.  What I heart about Godfrey is how much he cracks himself up while he is doing his thing.  He was getting so tickled that the grommets on his jacket were quaking.  It’s infectious.  If you can get to any of the shows this weekend you are in such luck.  Godfrey is preparing to film a televised one-hour special next month and so he is polishing his best new material. Godfrey is a pretty astute observer of how people behave in everyday situations and as a result I learned a lot about underwear.  It turns out that men know the lady trick to getting it unstuck, and now I know what it looks like when a dude is yanking a wedge.  I don’t want to ruin it, but if you are not tied up with kids’ sports and preparing to be judged by sixth grade girls on Sunday morning…Go!  If you have never noticed the funny of rain, bedding, nubs (yes.  Nubs.) or getting ripped off by NWA in one sitting, and you know you haven’t, you owe it to yourself.  Check out www.vortexcomedy.com It’s Hot Damn approved.

4 Responses to “Good Godfrey”

  1. Laurel Spatz December 10, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    jealous. Not just the fine comedy but Vortex hamburgers…mmmm.

  2. Marshall December 10, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    nice job amiga!

  3. G O'Neal December 11, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    Congrats! “HDCA” has now made it to Google !

  4. catherine knight December 13, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    Ok – i love you blog almost as much as Intervention, which is saying a lot, and i am not ashamed to say it. However, after surviving 2 standup comedy classes and Punchline performances with Jamie Ward, i can’t bear to hear of his successes anymore… i am full of the green monster, i can’t read on… shame on me!

Leave a Reply

