Bobcat

28 Jan

Meow! Hot Damn and the Bobcat

Impulsivity has been a bit of a past problem, so when Marshall first approached me about reviewing shows at the Laughing Skull Lounge I had to think about it.  Plus, I had been on a steady diet of prescription painkillers and since I was trying hard to ignore the fuzzy green men in the corners I figured that I should I take a day to wean off and think it through. Okay, so my thought process was really just me perusing the upcoming calendar and administering the litmus test of whether or not I would want to be an audience member if I had to pay for it for the upcoming “acts”.  My immediate response was a resounding yes, but when I saw Bob Goldthwait on the schedule, it was downright visceral.  I know what you must be thinking…the guy with the mussy hair, clenched grin and the voice of a stammering deaf adolescent from the Police Academy movies; really?  Hey man, it was the eighties and he did quiet well for himself with that shtick.  So well, in fact, that he has been able to continue along with a super creative career and executing some fantastic, quality projects on his on terms.  Of course, there have been some flops, too.  Like getting canned from Hollywood Squares because no one would call on his square.  Or the time he famously set a sofa at The Tonight Show on fire.  But we don’t really need to talk about that.

One of the hands down best movies that I have seen in years, and I watch a lot of movies, is World’s Greatest Dad, released in 2009.  It was written, directed and drooled on by Bob.  It is film noir at its best.  If you have not seen this movie, check out the trailer here, and then go to your Netflix que immediately.  It is that good.  It’s all dark, twisted and poignant.  And while you’re at it, go ahead and que up Shakes The Clown and Windy City Heat.  Anyhoo, I was a bit surprised to find out that Bob is still doing stand-up, since he’s retired from it a time or two.  He is calling this his “Out of Money” tour, but I don’t believe it.  Bobcat’s got a lot of energy and I think he probably gets a little restless from time to time and just needs to get out and stretch.

Considering that Bobcat is someone who’s been there, and done that, his show was remarkably fresh and organic.  He spins his wheels a bit about being washed out of the eighties, but I swear that I thought everything he hit on was relevant now.  Most of the audience had not hit knee replacements yet nor was any one drinking joint juice and vodka on the rocks, so I think it’s a safe assumption that Bob resonates with the kids.  He spends a lot of the show “building to a peak”, but it was all pretty peak to me.  I love good Hollywood insider dirt.  It’s base and shallow, but I can’t help myself.  Mention a Jackson and I froth at the mouth.  Bust on Bret Michaels’ ever-present bandana and I’m hooked.  The list of projects that this guy has had his toe in is unbelievable and that he’s willing to wax and dish on some of it is golden to me.

Bandana love

Bobcat’s no stranger to Atlanta, not because he knows about Chastain Park and all of the Peachtree Street variations, but because he watches The Real Housewives of Atlanta.  I dig that he is man enough to admit it.  I also am impressed that he picked up on the undertone of the show that no one here discusses out loud, “Where are all the free-range gays with hot pants and heels?”  This, too, has been gnawing at me.

I don’t know if Bobcat is going to retire from stand-up again.  Probably, he will, which doesn’t mean that he won’t make like Cher and come back out again.  But who knows?  Maybe it won’t be in the A-T-L next time.  He could be embraced by Mormons and, going forward, only appear in Utah.  I wouldn’t chance it.  He’s here now.  I’d get myself to midtown this weekend and check it out.

This weekend is the end of Gilbert Lawand’s month of hosting.  He’s changed it up a bit and added in some new stuff that made me tear up.  Yes, he’s still dating, but he is starting to wise up to some of the single girl tricks to getting out of sleeping with him.

Tim Miller had some fan-freaking-tastic ideas for some new Precious Moments figurines that could be top sellers at the Honky Bucket Cracker Barrel.  He actually had another great retail idea for “Period Panties” that would be emblazoned with messages of warning or explanations for the closed shop.

Paul Gallois was looking sexy in his jeans he got at Kohl’s Back to School Sale.  Like more that ten percent of Georgians, Paul is looking to pick up extra work.  Just what are gas stations looking for in an employee?  Apparently, a lot, which is weird when I think about the stellar personalities working at my neighborhood BP.  Paul filled out a zillion-page personality profile and hasn’t gotten called back.  And it’s a shame, because he seems to have a very thorough knowledge of convenience snacks.

One Response to “Bobcat”

  1. Laurel January 29, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    I have always had big love for Bobcat Goldthwaite.

Leave a Reply

