Hardest woking thinker

25 Mar

Hot Damn and Steve" Don't Call Him Ginge" Hofstetter

After a “situation” with our family dog that involved a trip to the 24-hour emergency vet clinic and an $73 “situation” at the gas pump, I was running so late last night that I practically skid sideways into the Laughing Skull Lounge just as headliner Steve Hofstetter was staring up.  Sadly I missed all of the openers, including Tushar Singh’s last Thursday as resident comic.  Sad face.

Honestly, I am a little out of it.  There are things that I don’t know anymore or at all.  I don’t know how to Skype, and frankly, the whole idea gives me the heebie-jeebies.  I don’t know why straight men pay more than $30 for jeans.  I turn into Mr. Magoo every time I try to figure out “the Twitter” and I don’t understand the allure of anything auto-tuned.  And when I looked at the Skull calendar, I chalked up a new one: I didn’t know who Steve Hofstetter was.  I did a little Google-stalking and found descriptions of “the thinking man’s comic” and “the hardest working man in show-business”.  My first thought was, “oh crap, he’s everybody else.”

I arrived just in time to hear the tail end of Steve waxing about abortions.  That’s kinda gutsy here in the South, where that seems to still be a pretty divisive topic.  I like gutsy.  Once I sat down, waaay in the back, I realized that the room was stuffed with young people.  Like, sold out on a Saturday night stuffed.  But it was Thursday.  And by young…like 20s.  Turns out that I didn’t know Steve because I am old-as-shit.  He hits the late night shows and the college circuit hard.  He’s like an early Dave Mathews of comedy.  But all that touring means that he’s traveling constantly.  It seems like it would be glamorous for about five minutes, until you remember all of the jack-wagons working at the airport to protect us.  I kinda wish that he could moonlight a little bit for the TSA and help them implement a logical test for ferreting out dangerous from thirsty that doesn’t involve getting groped.

As Steve continued his set, flawlessly transitioning from weather, to the merits of ghettos versus trailer parks, to going to Walmart to feel superior and attractive, on to mitigating bad tattoo decisions, and tackling real issues that face the homeless (how are they going to open all of those canned goods we keep giving them?), to getting the most out of your local tax revenue, then why gullible girls should be finished by the vampires they swoon over…well, it occurred to me that Steve is a “thinking man” with some very well thought out, but cloyingly simple solutions to issues both mundane and broad.  By the end, Steve broke it all down in a way that was so startling and clear, I can’t believe it never occurred to me before.  Education is the answer.  Teach smart people to kill dumb people.  Duh!

Wrapping up his set, Steve solicits questions from the audience.  Tushar and I agreed that this is a pretty ballsy way to finish.  It’s like an open invitation to hecklers.  The person who has the best, most provocative question that he can get a good riff off of wins a prize.  I asked what the worst song ever is.  Rebecca Black’s Friday shot out of his mouth.  I didn’t win, though.  I’m not going to tell you what did.  You’ve got to come up with your own question you want answered and take it on down to the Skull this weekend.

2 Responses to “Hardest woking thinker”

  1. jenn Weyand March 25, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Really? That good? Frank & I were looking for something for Saturday night. Thanks! And as always, so entertaining. Hope the animal is recovering — as well as you!

  2. Jackson March 25, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    Mrs. Magoo — That one’s going to stick

Leave a Reply

